Giorgio Francesco Dalla Villa


Born in Milan, I graduated in composition in 2017 with full marks at “Giuseppe Verdi” Conservatory of Milan in the class of M° Paolo Rimoldi. In the following year I attended the courses organized by the conservatory for teaching music and subsequently, between 2019 and 2020, I specialized in composition with M° Fabio Vacchi in his master courses at “Fiesole Music School”.  I studied piano at the Civic Music School of Milan with M° Eleonora Zullo. Scientific interests led me also to study and get the master degree in "Plant Biotechnologies" at Milan’s University “Degli Studi”, with full marks and honors.  



Published scores: 

(in chronological order)


"Premio Mameli"  

“Gugliel Motel”, for ensemble, was selected  by the jury composed by Ennio Morricone, Claudio Ambrosini, Michele Dall’Ongaro and Gunter Neuhold, to be performed by the “Ensemble ’900” of Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in the final phase of the composition competition dedicated to Michele Novaro. This concert, conducted by Sara Càneva, took place in 2018 at Palazzo del Quirinale in Rome and was transmitted on Radio Rai3. In this occasion I was awarded with the ‘Mameli’  prize by the jury with Lorenzo Becattini, Piero Ostali and Giorgio Marino. 

"Special prize of  the “Péter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation 2020"

“Notte a San Domenico”, for string quartet, was awarded with Special prize of the “Péter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation by the Central European String Quartet of Budapest in their annual call for score. 

 Second prize  "Toru Takemitsu Composition Award 2021" 

My work for big orchestra, "Breaking a Mirror"  was premiered at the Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall by the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by M° Kanako Abe during the final phase of the "Toru Takemitsu Composition Award 2021". It was awarded  with the second prize by M° Pascal Dusapin, judge of the competition.

Second prize "Concorso Internazionale di Musica Città di Stresa XXXVIII edition"

A four hand piece for intermediate piano students.

  Certificate of Merit " First International Composition Competition Ferruccio Busoni"  

My work for chamber string orchestra "O Tosco", devoted to Dante Alighieri, was honored with this special mention by the jury of the competition with M° Fabio Vacchi, Lorenzo Ancillotti, Thierry Escaich, Detlev Glanert, Andrea Portera, Pietro Rigacci. 

Finalist at "Alba Rosa Foundation Composition Competition" 

    The piece "Life doesn't frighten me" for voice, piano and clarinet was selected by the jury  withWillem Jeths (Chairman), Judith Weir, Calliope Tsoupaki, Hanna Kulenty and Reinild Mees to be premiered in the final concert of the competition in Amsterdam at Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ. 

Second Prize at IV European Composer Competition

Released by Academia Musica Vienna, chamber music category.

Honorable mention at "Vienna Composition competition 2022”

Released by Vienna classical Music Academy, string chamber music.

Third prize at Composer Project and Competition 2022

Released by Academia Musica Vienna, voice music category.

Mention at "Festival dei Cammini Francescani" first edition.

Released by Fondazione Progetto Valtiberina, M° Fabrizio De Rossi Re president of the judging commission. In occasion of the "Festival dei Cammini Francescani 2023". the piece "Il Grido della Terra" for solo clarinet has been premiered by M° Fabio Battistelli at Teatro stabile of Anghiari. 

2° Premio ex-aequo- Costruttori di Armonie Premio Giuseppe Lodigiani

Released by Serate Musicali, M° Fulvio Luciani president of the judging commission.